Criteria targeted:
P9 – REFLECT ON PROPOSALS AND REALISATIONS
M2 – SUSTAIN LEVELS OF COMMITMENT AND ATTENTION TO DETAIL WITH THE FMP
D1 – APPRAISE AND ARTICULATE CRITICAL DECISION MAKING 
D2 – RESPOND PROACTIVELY, INDEPENDENTLY AND IMAGINATIVELY TO CHALLENGES
D4  – UNDERSTAND AND APPLY INFORMED SELF-CRITICAL JUDGEMENT
D5 – DEMONSTRATE THE ABILITY TO PROACTIVELY ENGAGE IN CRITICAL DEBATE

(M2) (D2) Struggles and challenges:

During the FMP, I have had a range of struggles and challenges that have enabled me to improve in my work, such as improving an experiment or developing skills that need to be of better quality. Throughout this project I feel I have strived to create high quality artwork, research and visual interpretation of my journey from a theme to a final piece, and throughout I have been determined to improve my artistic skills.

Some of my struggles to create high quality work have been mostly with new materials and methods, such as my artist copy of Charlotte Caron’s photography. With this artwork I struggled to create a similar image as Caron whilst portraying an effective message, as I had not planned where the painting would fit on the face when taking the photo, and the end result was not the best quality. However, after I faced this challenge, I made a modified version of the artist copy that was an improvement to the previous try. Therefore I demonstrated that although I was faced with a struggle, I overcame it and improved my work to make it the best quality.

(D1) (D5) Individual creativity:

Within the FMP I have used different materials and methods to visually communicate my ideas of architecture and humanity, and I have also created copies of artist’s work with my own creativity added into it. As well as this, my individual creativity has developed as my ideas and thought process has developed within my sketchbook, and also when evaluating my work in the learning journal.

I have also challenged and subverted traditional art practices and methods by adding my own ideas and methods into it and creating artwork that defines my artistic skill. An example of this would be my experimentation during my exploration of question 2 – how we interact with architecture. This experiment involved taking traditional photographs of a range of different architecture in portrait, but I created my own art practice by adding a layer of art within the photograph, creating my own fine art photography. I felt this experiment was very successful in being original and was also successful in portraying my themes of human interaction with architecture, and ultimately were a part of my final piece as they were one of the best experiments.

(P9) (D4) Final Evaluation:

My FMP consisted of researching, identifying and exploring the ways in which humanity relates to architecture, and within that thought process I created four questions that would be the foundations of what I would research and the artwork I would create in response to the four questions. In evaluation, the four questions was a very successful way of organising my thoughts into a chronological sketchbook, and it also allowed me to research artists and architects in four different aspects of my ideas.

At the beginning of each question, I researched artists and architects that linked with the ideas of each question, such as how humans interacted with architecture. My research consisted of elements of architecture, interaction, selfishness and selflessness, and also different techniques that I haven’t used. My artist research included installation artist Leandro Erlich, who influenced my ideas with his consideration of the viewer and how they interact with the artwork, and his interest in spaces and images of architecture. I also researched architecture like Lincoln cathedral, an image used in my final piece, and also architects like I.M. Pei, a selfish architect, and Moshe Safdie, a selfless architect. Overall, my artist research was on topic, relevant to my thought process and four questions, and also allowed me to develop my art skills and broaden my knowledge and ideas for the final piece.

After carrying out artist research, I created artist copies and also experimentations relating to each question. Throughout the project I made sure to create a lot of artwork that allowed me to explore my ideas and practice with different and also new materials I hadn’t used before. Many of my copies and experiments were successful and influential towards my final piece, however some were not as successful such as my artist copy of I.M.Pei’s the Louvre. Although it fitted well with my ideas of reflection and images of architecture, the paint did not dry well on the mirror surface and it wasn’t the best quality that I wanted it to be, however this process did allow me to narrow down the methods I would be using when creating my final piece. Overall, the process of making artist copies and experimentation was very influential in my project, developing my art skills and enabling me to choose a method for my final piece, as well as giving me ideas and more themes within my project theme.

At the end of all of my research and experimentation, I planned out and created my final piece. I had multiple design ideas that were based around experiments I had previously done, and also based on my chosen theme of interaction and images of architecture, which I felt was the most effective theme for a final piece to strongly convey my project idea. After discussing these initial ideas with peers and tutors, I narrowed them down do a piece of artwork that would involve a transparent material such as perspex in order to portray reflection and interaction. After planning the making and an evaluation of elements such as health and safety and time, I felt that the final artwork I chose to make would be successful in portraying the theme of my project, and would be of good enough quality for the grade that I needed. However, during the making of the final piece I discussed my piece with my tutor, and decided to change my final piece because the overall artwork was not to the best of my ability. Also, when reviewing my whole project, I wanted to incorporate more of my artists that I researched like Francesco Paleari, and include more artistic methods I experimented with like the fine art layered photography. In retrospect of this decision, I felt that it was te right decision to make, and during the exhibition of the final artwork, I was very happy and proud of my work, and I felt it visually communicated my ideas very well. Overall, the final piece element of my project involved some challenges and was not planned throughout, but the end result was better than expected and related to the content of my FMP well.

Overall, this project was very successful in conveying facades of architecture, and the FMP has enabled me to develop my art skills through my experimentations, influence my artistic ideas with my artist research, and has enabled me to achieve a sense of how a project can develop into a piece of final artwork that visually portrays my ideas of how humans relate to architecture.

Before this project, I wasn’t sure of how a successful project developed from the research process to the final piece process, but the FMP has enabled me to fully understand this. As well as this, at the beginning of the FMP, my ideas were not as organised and assured as they are now, and I was unsure of where the project would end up or what type of artwork I would make, however after research, exploration and experimentation, my ideas gradually developed and resulted in a successful final piece along with a successful project.

 

