Criteria targetted:
P3 – APPLY APPROPRIATE REFERENCES TO THE REALISATION OF THE FMP
P4 – APPRAISE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE FMP DEVELOPMENT
M3 – DEMONSTRATE THE CAPACITY TO DEVISE AND CONSTRUCT A SUBSTANTIVE BODY OF WORK DEMONSTRATING CONSISTENT QUALITY

Here I have carried out test pieces of what I would be making for my final piece – an etching of (P3) two religious buildings I have previously looked at: Il Duomo and Lincoln Cathedral.

I first etched small details of lincoln cathedral and an exterior view of the cathedral. I also etched the top of Il duomo. When I was etching, I realised that I needed to etch each line slowly and carefully as the tool kept slipping and creating wobbly lines. I also tried to create tone in the etchings with hatching and repetitive lines; I found that hatching or cross-hatching was more effective and was also easier to etch.

After etching, I decided to see how well the etchings would take to acrylic colour, as I wanted to incorporate colour into my final piece. I used a dry brush and brown shades of acrylic to colour the etching by rubbing the acrylic into the lines I had etched. I found this method very successful, and it gave it an aged and ominous look. It also brought out the detail I had etched and when I held it up to the light it created a better effect than the etching with no colour.

(P4) Overall, I feel that the methods I will be using in my final piece were very successful and I will be able to create a quality piece with confidence after this test piece went very well.

(M3) Images of process:

