Criteria targeted:
P3 – APPLY APPROPRIATE REFERENCES TO THE REALISATION OF THE FMP
P4 – APPRAISE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE FMP DEVELOPMENT
P7 – PROPOSE ALTERNATIVE RESOLUTIONS
M3 – DEMONSTRATE THE CAPACITY TO DEVISE AND CONSTRUCT A SUBSTANTIVE BODY OF WORK DEMONSTRATING CONSISTENT QUALITY
M5 – WORK COLLABORATIVELY IN SEEKING OUT AND USING THE ADVICE OF OTHERS TO EXTEND AND DEVELOP THE POTENTIAL OF THE FMP

In order to choose which form of media I will use for visually communicating an image of architecture, and to see which media worked best with glass, I experimented with (P7) etching, painting with acrylic and painting the outline of the building with acrylic.

I first sketched an outline of (P3) Lincoln cathedral, which I am thinking of using as the subject of my architecture painting as it has lots of detail, and I enjoyed exploring religious architecture the most in the project.

I then etched the drawing into perspex using a cutting tool. (P4)I found etching very difficult as I couldn’t keep the tool straight when trying to carve straight lines, and I had to carve the perspex with lots of force in order to get a clear image. I also struggled to add tone and depth to the image, as I could only manage to cross hatch with the tool, instead of using multiple mark making techniques.

After etching, I explored how well acrylic would look on glass, so using acrylics and a pane of glass I first painted the block colours of the cathedral, let it dry, then added details and tone in black acrylic. I thought this method was much more effective as the outcome was brighter, clearer and had colour, which is important in order to portray a mood and meaning.

Then I used just black acrylic to paint the outline of the cathedral on a pane of glass,  to see what the image would look like without colour, and some tone. I liked the outcome and thought I had successfully captured the depth and darkness of the building, however it had no colour. Therefore, I will be using the acrylics with colour method to paint my image of architecture, and I would like to paint a larger and more detailed image of Lincoln cathedral as it conveys mood and has lots of detail for me to capture in a high quality final piece.

UPDATE: After (M5) discussing the three methods with my peers and my tutor, they all thought that the etching looked more successful, and that it would create the most impact as a final piece portraying architecture. Therefore I am using etching in my final piece, on a sheet of perspex, however I will need to practice this method as it is not my strongest.

(M3) Images of process:

