Criteria targetted:
P3 – APPLY APPROPRIATE REFERENCES TO THE REALISATION OF THE FMP
P4 – APPRAISE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE FMP DEVELOPMENT
M3 – DEMONSTRATE THE CAPACITY TO DEVISE AND CONSTRUCT A SUBSTANSIVE BODY OF WORK DEMONSTRATING CONSISTENT QUALITY

Question 3: Why does architecture become more valuable and sacred than humanity?

Here I have used panes of glass and acrylic paint to create three stained glass windows in order to explore my ideas of reflection, interaction and images of architecture in my final piece, using glass to show a surface to look through. I used black acrylic to create an outline, then I coloured sections with watered down acrylic. (P3) I painted three images of cathedrals from my research of religious architecture, depicting a modern and bright version, an interior, and a traditional version.

I enjoyed this media process and I think it was successfully portraying valuable religious architecture, and this process is one of my stronger media methods to work with so far in the project. (P4) As well as my strengths, there were some faults in this method; I though that when painting the black outline, it was not as defined as I wanted it to be as I didn’t use a small enough brush, so the lines were slightly messy.  If I was to use this method for my final piece, I would do a better outline with a smaller brush, and I would also fill in the colouring of the piece better to ensure there are no brush marks, maybe by watering it down more or using a larger brush.

In terms of my final piece, I will be using a reflective/transparent surface such as glass, and I will be painting an image of architecture onto it, so this experiment is a good example of what I could produce.

(M3) Images of process:

