Criteria targetted:
P2 – RESEARCH RELEVANT HISTORICAL, CULTURAL AND CONTEMPORARY SOURCES
P3 – APPLY APPROPROATE REFERENCES TO THE REALISATION OF THE FMP
P4 – APPRAISE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE FMP DEVELOPMENT
M3 – DEMONSTRATE THE CAPACITY TO DEVISE AND CONSTRUCT A SUBSTANSIVE BODY OF WORK DEMONSTRATING CONSISTENT QUALITY

Question 4: Who does architecture mean more to: the creator or the user?

Here I have used the process and ideas of making an architectural model to portray the fourth question by creating a model incorporating three examples of (P2)(P3) the architects’ work I have researched; Future systems, I.M.Pei and Moshe Safdie.

I first cut out a building out of card, giving it sides to create a facade model. Then I cut out the window details using a craft knife. Using acrylic paint and sand paper for texture, I painted the front of the model in the styles of the three architects’ buildings. In order to incorporate the ideas of visitors/users in question 4, I cut silhouettes of people out of black card and attached them to the back of the model, painted black.

(P4) My strengths with this experiment was following the process similar to architecture designs, making a model that reflects the themes of my final piece. Although this experiment was successful, there were some faults with the model making; when trying to create a 3D model, I added sides similar to an architectural model, however the sides broke as the card I used was too thin. Therefore, I won’t be creating a card model for my final piece as it is not good enough quality, but I will incorporate the idea of visitors.

In terms of the final piece, I will create a 3D piece that incorporates an interactive element, humanity, and images of architecture. This experiment has allowed me to explore ideas within question 4 like the necessity of visitors, and I will use the elements of visitors and interaction in my final piece.

(M3) Images of process:

