Criteria targetted:
P2 – RESEARCH RELEVANT HISTORICAL, CULTURAL AND CONTEMPORARY SOURCES
P3 – APPLY APPROPROATE REFERENCES TO THE REALISATION OF THE FMP
P4 – APPRAISE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE FMP DEVELOPMENT
M3 – DEMONSTRATE THE CAPACITY TO DEVISE AND CONSTRUCT A SUBSTANSIVE BODY OF WORK DEMONSTRATING CONSISTENT QUALITY

Question 4: Who does architecture mean more to: the creator or the user?

Here I have used poly tile printing, glass and a mirror to create a piece that portrays the image of the (P2)(P3)Louvre, and also the idea of selfishness, as Pei’s design was mostly selfish. I have used the method of poly tile printing to make the lines of the Louvre stand out and be reflective, and the rest a block colour.

(P4)My strengths with this copy was the printing process, as I have done it previously, and I think it created a clear image. However in terms of faults with this method, the ink did not dry as quickly as I wanted it to, as it had been printed onto a different surface instead of paper, so the print was sticky and I had to put a film of plastic to stop it sticking to anything. Therefore, I don’t think I will use this process for my final piece as it is not good enough quality and I don’t think poly tile printing will bring out the intricate details of buildings well enough.

In terms of the final piece, I will utilise this idea of interaction and looking through the artwork to portray the human relationship with architecture.

(M3) Images of process:

