Criteria targetted:
P2 – RESEARCH RELEVANT HISTORICAL, CULTURAL AND CONTEMPORARY SOURCES
P3 – APPLY APPROPRIATE REFERENCES TO THE REALISATION OF FMP
P4 – APPRAISE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE FMP DEVELOPMENT
M3 – DEMONSTRATE THE CAPACITY TO DEVISE AND CONSTRUCT A SUBSTANSIVE BODY OF WORK DEMONSTRATING CONSISTENT QUALITY
D2 – RESPOND PROACTIVELY, INDEPENDENTLY AND IMAGINATIVELY TO CHALLENGES AND CONSTRAINTS IN THE REALISATION OF FMP

Question 2: How does architecture make us feel? – Slinkachu’s photography

In order to create an artist copy of (P2)(P3) Slinkachu’s photography, I took some photographs of architecture – Leamington Spa town hall and St. Philip’s Cathedral in Birmingham –  and also made a clay figurine, that I sat down on a flat surface.

I wanted to demonstrate the scale of humans and architecture, and in these photos I think the architecture background dominates the figure. In terms of my 2nd question area of exploration – how architecture makes us feel – I captured two different moods with each of these photos; no.1 being a good, light mood and no.2 being a dark, sad mood. This is portrayed by the lightness of the photo, and the positioning and colour of the buildings.

Overall, I think this artist copy was successful, as I managed to capture the message that Slinkachu is trying to convey, about humanity’s interaction with the world, and I also responded to my question of how architecture affects us, showing different moods in the buildings.

(P4) As well as my strengths, there were some faults when taking the photos; when trying to get the focus of both the figurine and the building in the background I found my camera would only focus on one of the subjects, so the building lacked detail. However with this fault it brought the focus towards the size of the figurine compared to the building which was a successful outcome. (D2) If I was to repeat this method in the final piece, I would use a more professional camera in order to try to capture the background details of the architecture, and I would also attempt different angles to portray different perspectives and moods.

(M3) Images of process:

