Criteria targetted:
P4 – APPRAISE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE FMP DEVELOPMENT
M3 – DEMONSTRATE THE CAPACITY TO DEVISE AND CONSTRUCT A SUBSTANSIVE BODY OF WORK DEMONSTRATING CONSISTENT QUALITY
D2 – RESPOND PROACTIVELY, INDEPENDENTLY AND IMAGINATIVELY TO CHALLENGES AND CONSTRAINTS IN THE REALISATION OF FMP

Question 1: How does architecture affect our lives?

Here I have experimented with lino – cut tile printing to demonstrate the first question of how architecture affects humanity. When lino printing, I carried on using the two images I had previously used for the artist copy.

I first used brown ink, which brought the detail and lines out well, and gave a lot of depth. Then I used a light orange ink which wasn’t as successful, however I think I layered on too much ink as the lines bled. As a second layer, I used the same printing method to print my sister’s face on top of the buildings. This was successful, however the smaller details such as the eyes were not as clean as I wanted them to be.

(P4) Overall, the prints were mostly successful, however the prints of the chateau weren’t as good as the lines did not show up well and it lost some detail. As well as this, the detail of the prints were lost when there was too much ink applied to the roller, and when I didn’t roll the ink out enough to get a thin layer on the roller. (D2) If I was to use this method for my final piece, I would be more careful with rolling out the ink to ensure I print a clear print, and I would also cut out a more defined lino tile to bring out the mark making techniques more.

In terms of the final piece, I would not consider using lino printing as it does not portray a relation with humans and architecture, although it illustrates the architecture very well with the clear lines and tone.

(M3) Images of process:

