Criteria targetted:
P2 – RESEARCH RELEVANT HISTORICAL, CULTURAL AND CONTEMPORARY SOURCES
P3 – APPLY APPROPRIATE REFERENCES TO THE REALISATION OF THE FMP
P4 – APPRAISE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE FMP DEVELOPMENT
M3 – DEMONSTRATE THE CAPACITY TO DEVISE AND CONSTRUCT A SUBSTANSIVE BODY OF WORK DEMONSTRATING CONSISTENT QUALITY

Question 1: How does architecture affect our lives? – Charlotte Caron’s photography art

As an artist copy of (P2)(P3)Charlotte Caron’s work, I have painted onto a film of plastic, however I used an image of architecture as the subject instead of an animal. I chose to relate the image to the person I would be using in the photograph; my sister’s favourite building is the chateau impney, so I painted a section of the building. I then took a range of photos to replicate Caron’s work.

Overall, my strengths were painting an accurate image of the chateau, and taking the photographs which visually communicated my theme of human relations with architecture, however the overall effect was lost as the film wasn’t large enough to fit over my sister’s face, and the building was not in proportion with the face.

(P4)As well as this, when painting the acrylic onto the film, I had to layer the paint on as it was thinning out. When it had dried, it started to peel off the film as the film was thin and the acrylic had nothing to stick to. If I was to repeat this method in the final piece, I would use a stronger surface to paint on, and maybe add PVA glue to the acrylic to make it stick to the surface well and create a clear image.

(M3) Images of process:

