Criteria targetted:
P2 – RESEARCH RELEVANT HISTORICAL, CULTURAL AND CONTEMPORARY SOURCES.
P3 – APPLY APPROPRIATE REFERENCES TO THE REALISATION OF THE FMP
P4 – APPRAISE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE FMP DEVELOPMENT
M2 – SUSTAIN LEVELS OF COMMITMENT AND ATTENTION TO DETAIL WITH FMP
M3 – DEMONSTRATE THE CAPACITY TO DEVISE AND CONSTRUCT A SUBSTANSIVE BODY OF WORK DEMONSTRATING CONSISTENT QUALITY
D1 – APPRAISE AND ARTICULATE CRITICAL DECISION MAKING THROUGH THE FMP, SHOWING THE ABILITY TO ENGAGE WITH ORIGINAL THINKING, CONCEPTS AND APPROACHES. 

Question 1: How does architecture affect our lives? – Charlotte Caron’s photography art

Here I have perfected the first artist copy of (P2)(P3) Charlotte Caron’s work, using red acetate as a more suitable background. using the same as the first artist copy, I painted my mom’s favourite building Il Duomo.

(M2)(D1) In order to improve from the previous experiment, I painted onto a firmer sheet and layered on the paint to get better depth and tone. When taking the photos, I used my sister as my mom wasn’t available. I used a larger sheet of acetate in order to cover all of the subject behind.

Overall, my strengths were improving on the first copy with a better painted image and a better photo as I used a larger sheet of acetate. I am considering photography for my final piece, as it portrays well the idea of humans and architecture together.

(P4) As well as my strengths, there were some faults with this method; similar to the first copy, when painting the acrylic onto the film, I had to layer the paint on as it was thinning out. When it had dried, it also started to peel off the film, however the red acetate was a much better surface for the acrylic to stick to. If I was to repeat this method in the final piece, I would also use a stronger surface to paint on and add PVA to the acrylic, as some parts of the painitng were not vivid enough in colour.

(M3) Images of process:

