When researching and testing methods of clay sculpting, I found that the most successful method was wire armature, as it will provide a strong support for elements of the final piece such as the bird and the tiger. As well as this, this method will be lightweight as it uses less clay.

I tested out making the tiger’s head, as it was a detailed part of the sculpture. I wanted to make sure that the materials used would be successful, and I also wanted to practice the detail on the tiger’s face to perfect techniques with clay.

Overall, the method and materials were successful, however after drying, the clay became very cracked and parts were flaking away. In order to avoid this in my final piece, I will make sure that the clay is attached well to the tin foil with masking tape, which will also provide a better surface for the clay to stick to.

