During the process of experimentation, we explored the techniques and processes of oil painting. We used ranges of black and white as our colours, to depict shading and tone of our direct observation of the subject.

Firstly we mixed blue, yellow and red to make the black colur, depending on the colouring of our object. I had a sheep skull, so I mixed a black that had a brown tone. Then I sketched the outlines of the skull , and traced the outline onto canvas paper. Using the black that I mixed I created the shading of the skull and took away the darker areas with white spirit.

I found the process of oil painting difficult during the painting of the skull, as I found it hard to shade with the oils and get an accurate depiction of the tones of the skull. Therefore in order to improve this piece I would be more accurate with the tone and details of the skull.

 

